Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Timeouts on AMI calls?

Can you assign a timeout to an AMI call? It seems like you could leak callback objects if a server was not responding. It would also be nice to have a timeout method in the callback class to perform an alternate action.

I am new to Ice, so I was wondering if this type of functionality can already be easily implemented with the existing API, or if changes to Ice are needed.

Comments

• mes
    mes California
    Hi,

Timeouts are supported for asynchronous invocations. If a timeout occurs, the ice_exception method of your callback object receives a TimeoutException.

Take care,
    - Mark
  • So how do you set the timeout for AMI calls?

I took the Printer example from the document, and added a sleep(1) inside printString. I set a 10ms timeout on the client proxy, and if I do a normal call, it times out as expected. If I change to AMI, it does not call my ice_exception() and it eventually (after 1 second) does call ice_response().

Is there a different timer for AMI calls?
  • mes
    mes California
    You set the timeout in the usual way, using ice_timeout on the proxy. However, you may have neglected to set the Ice.MonitorConnections property, which activates a background thread to monitor AMI timeouts.

I just tried an AMI variant of the hello demo and it worked correctly. Let us know if you're still having trouble.

- Mark
  • Thanks

That is it. The default is no ConnectionManager, and so AMI calls effectively have no timeout by default. One problem I have with this is that the ConnectionManager interval is in seconds. This means that AMI calls will receive timeouts up to 1 second late.