Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

IcePack tutorials/ demos

Hi there,

I'm really new to Ice, but have done some CORBA work before.
However, I really have some problems understanding the different things that IcePack provides. Are there any additional tutorials and/ or docs about this module? This would probably help a lot...

Kind regards,

Stephan

Comments

• marc
    marc Florida
    Besides the examples in the manual, there is also demo/IcePack/hello. See demo/IcePack/hello/README for instructions on how to run this demo.

You might also want to have a look at the tests in test/IcePack for more examples.
  • Originally posted by marc
    Besides the examples in the manual, there is also demo/IcePack/hello. See demo/IcePack/hello/README for instructions on how to run this demo.

:-))= I now that demo. But it's that *aehm* "packed" that it's rather difficult to understand what's going on there. imho it would be cool to have something (preferably a tutorial) that creates that example step-by-step. I think that would make IcePack much easier to understand.

Stephan
  • benoit
    benoit Rennes, France
    Yes, I agree the demo is a little complicated. I will think about having a simpler one. The demo demonstrates the 2 principal IcePack functionalities, i.e.: the location (see 18.4 in the manual) and deployment mechanism (see 18.8 in the manual).

IcePack implements these 2 functionalities in 2 components, the IcePack registry and the IcePack node. Only one registry should be running and as many nodes as you wish could be running (typically you would have one node per host). The registry is the central database were location information are stored (if you only need to use the location mechanism for indirect biding you could only use the registry). The nodes take care of activating your Java or C++ programs. The IcePack registry and node are also detailed in the manual.