Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Where to Begin?

Newbie Warning: I'm a less-experienced C++ programmer. To rate my experience -- I've gotten through most of Deitel & Deitel's "C++ How to Program" and did fine, but haven't really covered the most advanced concepts therein, and have limited experience with STL. I haven't yet developed any "real" applications.

I've been looking for a robust client-server networking framework. I'm wanting to start developing a foundation framework for cross-platform, client/server online games. I certainly don't expect to accomplish this overnight, nor alone :) but I've got to begin somewhere. I think Ice might be the answer.

Unfortunately, it takes me awhile to grasp some of the more abstract concepts in the Ice documentation. I'm wondering if there are any books, tutorials, walkthroughs, demos, etc out there that are aimed at less experienced developers who like a more hands-on approach.

Comments

• marc
    marc Florida
    I'm afraid if you never wrote a "real" C++ program, then your learning curve for Ice for C++ will be very steep.

The manual is the best tutorial we have. I don't see any way to simplify the manual. The concepts described there must be understood in order to use Ice efficiently.
  • ICE is fundamentally an object-oriented middleware, so there are some concepts that have to be understood beforehand:

1. Object Orientation (not excluding "design patterns")
    2. Network concepts
    3. Concurrent programming
    4. Platform dependent programming (Linux, UNIX, Windows, Java etc.)

Experience in these areas will come from writing real applications. However, though it is a bit difficult to start eveything together, it not impossible. You can learn things gradually in parts -- but it might just take much longer. As Marc said, the learning curve will be steep.