Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

"Explicit specialization" compiling problem

Hello.

I am new to ICE and to distributed application development in general. I actually found out about it today (10 November), in the comp.object.corba newsgroup, while I was trying to learn more about CORBA. I then went to ZeroC's website and took a closer look at ICE. I must say I liked what I saw. From the little I have seen of CORBA, if I had to classify ICE in one word, I'd say it is neat.

So I am now in the process of reading the PDF documentation (nicely written, by the way) and, after going through the introductory material, I finally got to the "Hello World Application". I followed the steps with excitement, but could not get past building the server because of compiler errors. I am using the compiler that comes with Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition Beta and although I understand it is not part of the supported platforms, I was curious about the error. Here is what it gives me:

D:\Ney\ICE>cl /c /EHs /MD Server.cpp Printer.cpp
Microsoft (R) 32-bit C/C++ Optimizing Compiler Version 14.00.40607.16 for 80x86
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

Server.cpp
C:\ICE\include\IceUtil\Handle.h(141) : error C2299: 'IceUtil::Handle<T>::Handle' : behavior change: an explicit specialization c
annot be a copy constructor or copy assignment operator
C:\ICE\include\IceUtil\Handle.h(239) : see reference to class template instantiation 'IceUtil::Handle<T>' being compiled

So, apparently, there has been some compiler behavior change with regards to explicit template specialization. I reckon that does not happen with the compiler that is bundled in Visual Studio .NET 2003. Could anyone confirm that?

Just out of curiosity, I decided to have a look at the source code of the offending header (<iceroot>\include\IceUtil\Handle.h, line 141) and found the following comment there:

// COMPILERBUG: Is VC++ or GNU C++ right here???